Board of Health

As established by Ohio law, the Board of Health is the policy making body with authority to adopt regulations and implement programs to promote public health within the district. Board of Health members are appointed by the District Advisory Council (DAC), which has the responsibility of appointing Board of Health members and bringing concerns and recommendations on health issues to the Board’s attention.

The DAC meets annually and is composed of the chairman of each township trustees, the mayor of each municipality, and the president of the Auglaize County Board of Commissioners.

Board of Health Members:

  • President: Linda Kitzmiller, RN (Minster)
  • Vice-President: Dan Harpster, DVM (Waynsfield)
  • Member: Vacant (St. Marys)
  • Member: Kim Prueter (New Bremen)
  • Member: Thomas Freytag MD (Wapakoneta)

Board Meetings:

Business meetings of the Board are held once a month, while special meetings are called when necessary. The usual meeting date is the second Tuesday of each month at 8:30 am. Board meetings are open to the public and citizen input is encouraged.